Hylands House, in Chelmsford, Essex, is a stunning Grade II* listed property, spectacularly restored to its former glory and situated in 574 acres of historic landscaped parkland. Built in 1730 as a modest red brick Queen Anne style house, Hylands House has changed and developed considerably throughout its history. Nine different owners have each stamped their own personality on the house, extending and remodelling according to their tastes and the fashion of the day.
In 1966 Chelmsford Borough Council purchased Hylands House and immediately opened the park to the public. Following a 20 year programme of restoration to the house and landscape, work was completed in 2007. Visitors can now enjoy spectacular rooms, ranging from the exquisitely gilded Drawing Room to the sumptuously ornate Banqueting Room. The magnificent Grand Staircase leads to the Repton Room on the first floor, which provides stunning views over the landscaped parkland. Next door is the Social History Room offering a variety of exhibits. Explore the basement complete with butler’s pantry and wine cellar.
Refreshments are available from Hutton’s Courtyard Café, a family run eatery, located 50 metres from the house within Stables Visitor Centre. Hutton’s is an ideal venue to meet with friends for lunch or stop for a drink when out walking in the park. You will find a wide range of hot and cold food, including breakfast, daily specials, pasta, sandwiches, jacket potatoes and salads. Much of the produce being locally-sourced.